Old Dog, New Tricks

It’s not true what they say. Who the heck are they anyway?

You can teach an old dog new tricks. As long as the dog is willing to learn.

At 50 years old, the one thing I hear the most about people and relationships is that–by this age–people only become more and more entrenched in who and what they already are. They are too old to change.

And so, what you see is what you get. Don’t expect different and you won’t be disappointed.

I call bullshit. (Excuse my French).

At 50 years old, I can honestly say that I am still a work in progress. And I try my darnedest to progress every single day. I think it is imperative if I want healthy relationships that I am constantly evolving.

At 50 years old, I am willing to put in the hard work of changing because it’s not like I turned 50 and suddenly became perfect.

Growth is hard. It can be painful. It is slow, tedious, and messily nonlinear. It comes with steps forward, and it certainly comes with setbacks.

At 50 years old, I have a lot of perspective. And it is up to me to be willing to observe, own, and break 50-year-old patterns. Because there is no sense in giving up on me until I am dead.

And I am not planning on being dead any time soon.

People always tell me, don’t go into relationships hoping people will become something they are not.

I’m here to tell you that I, for one, do want to be what I am not.

I want my healthy relationships (of every kind) to bring out the best of who I am. I want to be kinder, gentler, more patient. I want to be more tolerant, less rigid, more receptive. I want to be more awesome. Because no matter how awesome I may already be, there is a heck of a lot more awesome just waiting to be tapped into.

Tap. Tap. Tap.